Member of the National Genealogical Society 2018
Member of the New Mexico Genealogical Society 2018

The Salvation of the 1890 Federal Census Records - Oklahoma

As mentioned in yesterday's posting, the majority of the 1890 Federal Census was burned in a fire. 

However, if you have ancestors that lived in the Oklahoma Territory, you just may be in luck!

Oklahoma was an unincorporated territory from May 2, 1890 until November 16, 1907, when it joined with the Indian Territory under a new constitution and admitted to the Union as the State of Oklahoma.

Take note that there were only 7 counties at the time of the 1890 Oklahoma Territory Census which included:

  • Logan County
  • Oklahoma County
  • Cleveland County
  • Canadian County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Payne County
  • Beaver County

Information that you can extract from the records include the individual's name, age at nearest birthday, relationship to the head of the family, birthplace, sex, color, number of years in the United States, length of residence in the territory, if they were a soldier, if they had been naturalized, and if they were able to read or write. The county and town were also listed.

Even if you suspect that your relatives may have come through Oklahoma Territory between 1890 and 1907, it would be worth searching the archives to find out if they are listed.

No comments:

Post a Comment